U.S. Department of Commerce announced preliminary exclusion of the Atlantic Provinces of Canada from the anti-dumping investigation for softwood lumber

On June 26, 2017, U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross announced exclusion of the softwood lumber products produced in the Atlantic Provinces of Canada from the the ongoing AD investigation investigation . According to the announcement, the provinces list includes Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island.

Wilbur Ross, U.S. Secretary of Commerce, commented:

“I am pleased to announce that my staff has determined the exclusion of these products is appropriate. The U.S. petitioners and other parties support this determination; it of course will be subject to further comment on the record. A final decision on the matter is expected by late summer. I remain hopeful that a negotiated settlement is both possible and in the best interests of both countries, our forestry workers, producers, and affected communities.”

If finalized, this determination would exclude softwood lumber products certified to be harvested and produced in Atlantic Provinces of Canada from U.S. anti-dumping and countervailing duty investigations. The softwood lumber imports from these three provinces would thus be exempt from anti-dumping and countervailing duties.

As this is a preliminary decision with respect to the exclusion of lumber from the Atlantic Provinces, for now, Customs will continue to collect CVD cash deposits on imports of lumber from the Atlantic Provinces.

In 2016, imports of softwood lumber from Canada were valued at an estimated USD 5.66 billion.

On June 26, 2017, U.S. Secretary of Commerce also announced the preliminary determination in the AD investigation of softwood lumber from Canada.

The preliminary AD rates are in addition to the preliminary countervailing duty (CVD) rates that the Commerce Department assessed on softwood lumber on April 24, 2017.

Source: Woodbizforum