Government extended the Tasmanian RFA in Australia

Map of Regional Forest Agreement and related regions in Australia
Source: The Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

The Australian and Tasmanian governments extended the Tasmanian Regional Forest Agreement (RFA) by 20 years – to November 8, 2037. According to the announcement, the RFA had proven to be a strong and effective framework for the sustainable management of Tasmania’s forests. The extension was formalised on August 18, 2017 following extensive assessment, public consultation, independent review and negotiation.

The governments also agreed to introduce a rolling life for the Tasmanian RFA, which means it will be extended by five years if it is found to be successfully sustaining Tasmania’s forests at each of its five-yearly reviews.

Also the extended RFA provides a number of further improvements to the RFA framework:

  • a more outcomes focused five-yearly review process
  • strengthened communication between the Australian and Tasmanian governments
  • inclusion of specific clauses referring to climate change and matters of national environmental significance in the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (Cth)



RFAs are 20-year plans for the sustainable management and conservation of Australia’s native forests. There are 10 RFAs in four states covering commercial native forestry regions:

  • 5 in Victoria
  • 3 in New South Wales
  • 1 each in Western Australia and Tasmania.

Earlier the Federal Government finalized the method covering new forest plantations under the Emissions Reduction Fund in Australia.

Source: Woodbizforum